Miscellaneous

Wow Women

In striking contrast to the six thunderous statements, “it was good” in Genesis chapter one, stands the lone, “It is not good,” of chapter two. Specifically, God said, “It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.” Then God created Eve from Adam’s rib.

I often take note of passages of scripture directly relating to women. Here we see the pre-curse design for all ladies, what we were created to be: helpers in the calling to subdue the earth. ESV study Bible notes, “‘Helper’ (Hebrew ‘ezer) is one who supplies strength in the area that is lacking in ‘the helped.’ The term does not imply that the helper is either stronger or weaker than the one helped.” So I got to thinking about women in general and how a part of our imaging God is that we are, by design, helpers. And I think it’s extraordinary how God uses this aspect of our womanliness throughout history, particularly evident in times of crisis. I would love to study this more seriously, but even just a quick observation of even American History shows women at their finest, helpful selves.

Think about pilgrims crossing, pioneer women heading westward, Great Depression women, women of the world wars. It is their all-to-often hidden ability to keep life going, to make do without, to have courage and boldness and creativity in the midst of difficulty that shows the beauty and strength of helping.

Right now is no different. We are in the midst of an economic crisis and women are doing their thing. I see it in etsy shops full of women using their skills and creativity and opening shops to help make more money in tight times. I see it in a new commitment to beautify old furniture, bringing vintage into mainstream because times are tight. I see it in the clever coupon queens out there, making their dollar stretch. I see mommy-owned photography businesses popping up all over the place. Those are just a few of the obvious, broader ways women are helping in that will probably never be observed in an American History book. There are countless other individual ways women are behind the scenes helping that would probably be even more striking.  Times are hard, and women are rising to the challenge to help their husbands, to help the economy, and to ultimately glorify God whether they realize it or not.

I love how a Kansas pioneer’s daughter describes her mother as she is asked to write about her experience:

I have been thinking as I wrote of how mother would demur at this autobiographical enterprise: “Writing about me? Oh, there is nothing to be said about me of importance to Kansas – nothing thrilling or momentous about my pioneering days.” That is what they will all be saying – these modest pioneer women.

No, they didn’t do anything “outstanding” – many of them. There were very few heroines with a capital H in the story of Kansas. Their service was their valor; valor to “carry on” …in dugout or shack, in tent or “room ‘n’ lean-to,” with the same industry, persistence and cheerfulness as in the comfortable homes “back east”; to carry on and to bring forth with heroism strong sons and daughters for the new Commonwealth. – Katherine Elspeth Oliver

In our own way I think women, Christians or not, can’t keep themselves from the God-given urge to help when help is needed. And I think it is pretty amazing!

I don’t have a huge readership, but I’d love to throw a little business your way. If you or a girlfriend have a business, send me the link. I’d love to help you help!

2 thoughts on “Wow Women

  1. I love this post and the perspective. My stay at home mother often laments how she was not an income producer for our home, but I have encouraged her with this (something my husband encourages me with as I’m not an income producer either).

    Women who stay at home, make meals from scratch or nearly, iron hubby’s shirts rather than sending to dry cleaners, give haircuts and other such services rather than outsourcing them are income savers, and in these times that is just as much a help.

    For those who are doing all that AND generating income, kuddos to you. Truly, I find it staggering the talent, drive and diligence of so many women I know to be a stay at home mom and an income producer, too.

    My mother, by the way, is uber talented and makes amazing creations of beauty and function for the home. I have encouraged her many times to open her own etsy shop. If that ever happens, and it might very soon, I will be sure to send her link your way.

    For now, consider Elisa Melani who sells Norwex or others who may do those types of direct sales type jobs like Mary Kay, Pampered Chef, etc. There are so many, aren’t there?!

  2. I heard a fabulous message by Mary Kassian (sp?) on this subject. I think there can be a lot of confusion as to what a woman is supposed to “help” man (her husband) with. But it’s to to be an image bearer (as you say above). And one way we image bear is by being little creators.

    Interestingly, Bri’s comment about being an income producer also reminded me of what Carolyn McCauley wrote about in her feminism book. That at one point in American history taxable income was “household” income. So everything the family produced, man, woman, and child, was taken into consideration. It was only later that it was changed into the more current “income tax” that we have now where it’s based on a working individual. And as men moved away from the home/farm as the industrial revolution took over, that of course had an effect. And it affected how women viewed themselves and their work in and out of the home! Interesting to me.

Leave a Reply

