Miscellaneous

Creation and New Creation

Image

I am a Planet Earth junkie. Jason and I love to watch anything that reveals some of the creative genius of God. Whether or not it is information about the vastness of the galaxy, or the minute details of plankton, we just love the glory of God displayed through creation whether it’s macro or micro! We had the privilege of going to Bermuda for our 10th anniversary and we just kept getting chills over the  jewel blue ocean, the coral infused sand, the contrast of rock formations against blue skies, the colorful cartoon-like fish, and the overall breath-taking views of this part of God’s creation. It just catapults us into worship. That is the purpose of creation: to point us to the one from whose mind  this came, from whose mouth this was spoken to be.

Our church is participating in a reading plan that includes 100 “essential” passages of scripture that will guide you through the general storyline of the Bible in 100 readings. So yesterday I began with the often too familiar account of creation. As I read about God’s creative Word resulting in the heavens and the earth and all that would inhabit these things, I kept picturing these images I have seen, mostly through media, that make my jaw drop in wide-eyed wonder. Then, I came to this verse in Genesis 1: 

26 Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, after our likeness. And let them have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.”

 

It struck me that man is the crown of creation, because man is made in God’s own image, in His very likeness. Do I view mankind this way? No. I don’t get tears in my eyes when I see mankind express some sort of evidence that he is made in the image of God. 

A redeemed man or woman is a walking wonder, pointing to God’s creative work in an entirely new and even more profound way. Where in Genesis God says, “let there be light,” and there was light, in the Gospel God says, “let there be light,” and Jesus says, “I Am the Light of the World.” Where God spoke life to be in Genesis, He spoke spiritual life to be through the gospel. Do I look to be dazzled and amazed at God’s creative mind when I see my Christian brother or sister in Christ display the miraculous transforming work of the gospel. He is a new creation. Where there once was darkness, there is now light, except maybe in this case, where there once was anger, there is now patience. Where there once was self-indulgence, now there is servanthood. Where there once was pride, there is humility.

If you’re like me you think, well never perfectly. Never always patience instead of anger, serving instead of indulging, humility instead of pride.Of course, this is because of the fall, because sin entered the world and ruined everything. So why is it that I can be captivated by a broken creation and still see the glory more than the brokenness, but I can’t do this as easily with believers around me? Partly, it’s just laziness. I dont’ make the effort to see the creative work of God’s grace in the lives of those around me. Partly, it’s pride. I begin comparing myself unfavorably or favorably to those around me and it’s uncomfortable either way. Partly, it’s because I’m blind. I look at myself and others and don’t realize that what may look like a mundane act of kindness is actually more beautiful than a blazing sunset – it’s the blazing glory of the gospel of Jesus Christ shining forth through man, the very crown of God’s creation. Mostly, I think it’s because when I look at a person exhibiting grace, I forget to look past the human to the creative power of an amazing Savior. Do you see Him? Stunning!

 

5 thoughts on “Creation and New Creation

Leave a Reply

