31 days project

31 Days from House to Home: Day 2 – pick a paint

Welcome to day 2 for my 31 day journey from house to home.

Would you help me? I am trying to choose a paint color for my new home. I know I don’t have pictures up yet. And actually, I don’t even know if I can get in early this week to paint before the big move on Saturday. But I want to be ready just in case!

The house doesn’t have as much natural lighting as previous homes we’ve lived in. Also, when you walk in the front door, you can see upstairs and downstairs at the same time. Because of these factors, I’m thinking I’ll use one very light color throughout the house. We plan to just paint the entry (currently yellow) and living room (currently pink) initially.

Here are the colors I’m drawn to right now. I’m liking grayish browns. The computer doesn’t show the color perfectly, but enough to give you an idea.

pratt and lambert, gossamer. too plumy? too saturated?
B. Moore, Gray owl. too gray? too light?
B. Moore, Pale Oak. too bleh? too light?

Just to give you a feel for what I’m going for, here is a photo from Martha’s website, but of course, there is no mention of the color name for the wall. I love this color scheme.

pretty wall color

So there it is, my idea for wall color. Any suggestions? Which of the three do you like best? Is there another swatch somewhere that would suit this style better?

7 thoughts on “31 Days from House to Home: Day 2 – pick a paint

  1. I like them all but like the darkest one the best! Great color scheme with low lighting. Can totally appreciate why you were drawn to it in the Martha Stewart shot. Hope to see it–will pray for painting tIme

  2. I love Gray Owl. I think it’s light enough, especially if the house doesn’t get a lot of natural light, as well as neutral enough to pair any color with it. I think the top one is too saturated for a house that doesn’t get a lot of natural light. The top color also pairs well with Gray Owl, so you could always use that color as an accent color on just one wall or something too, if you wanted to use it but not commit.

  3. I am going with Gray Owl and I think that Martha’s wall color best mimics that. The top color may come out too plum, you’re right, esp. with your home being not on the brighter side. The neutral is just eh, to me, but it’s a nice “eh” if that makes sense!

  4. LOVE the photo! I am the world’s worst when it comes to paint colors, but I love all of them. I don’t think you could go wrong 🙂

    I blog at “Only a Breath” and would love for you to stop by if you have time! I’m writing about “31 Days to Love Your Neighbor”. It has been a very interesting journey to say the least! 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Melanie

  5. If the area has as much light as the photo , I say Gray Owl. Otherwise, pale oak. But you’ve probably already chosen and have it done, making this a moot point. Or hoot point, if you chose the owl. I think the top one would be too dark. Love the light blue and white with the grey. Such a departure for you all, though, from golds and reds and browns!

Leave a Reply

