Akron Adventure · moving · New Jersey Adventure · Spiritual Musings

The Best, Worst Year

August 2, 2010 – We packed our van and left Akron, Ohio to come back home to Maryland.

August 2, 2011 – Jason’s first day as Pastor of evangelism and outreach for Sovereign Grace Church of New Jersey .

When I consider the time between those dates, one theme emerges against the black backdrop of a very painful season of our lives: God is a faithful Father. I could never wander too far, sink too deep, run too fast that the faithful hand of God didn’t restrain, rescue, and restore me over and over again. I think about the image of the horse led by bit and bridle. I have felt like that horse stubbornly heading down the path of unbelief and even bitterness, but that is the wrong image. I am a child (sometimes throwing temper tantrums because God wasn’t doing things my way) and yes, I have experienced discipline, but more than that I have experienced being drawn not by bit and bridle, but by the tender hand of a loving Father.

How can this be? How is it that the Maker of heaven and earth, the One who holds the oceans in the palm of His hand would see me in my struggles and sin and reach down that very hand and rescue and restore me? I know it is only through Jesus. I experience what I have seen of Jesus in His Word. He loves the harlot, the tax collector, the thief. He heals the broken, the leprous, the blind. He feeds the hungry. He responds to desperation. He has mercy on the sinner. And like never before, I see myself in these stories. But like never before, I see Jesus like He is in these stories. What a precious gift this year has been for such a revelation of His love and faithfulness. I can honestly say I am grateful for this, the best worst year. And I look forward to what lies ahead knowing that though the circumstances of my life will be different, the story of my life will be the same: God is faithful.

What has been the theme of your year? What has God revealed to you about His character this year?

6 thoughts on “The Best, Worst Year

  1. Wow, 1 year to the date! We’ll miss you guys. But isn’t God good to show more of Jesus to you?

    Theme of our year? Not sure, but a good question to ponder . . .

  2. The Theme of This Year and The Theme of My Life.

    He’s Always Been Faithful To Me!

    Morning by morning I wake up to find
    The power and comfort of God’s hand in mine
    Season by season I watch Him, amazed
    In awe of the mystery of His perfect ways
    All I have need of, His hand will provide
    He’s always been faithful to me.

    I can’t remember a trial or a pain
    He did not recycle to bring me gain
    I can’t remember one single regret
    In serving God only, and trusting His hand
    All I have need of, His hand will provide
    He’s always been faithful to me.

    This is my anthem, this is my song
    The theme of the stories I’ve heard for so long
    God has been faithful, He will be again
    His loving compassion, it knows no end
    All I have need of, His hand will provide
    He’s always been faithful, He’s always been faithful
    He’s always been faithful to me.

  3. Megan, we are excited for what God has for us as well. It’s been a crazy adventure, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Danielle, we are excited, but sad to leave and would be lying if we said we didn’t really hope it would work out for us to stay here. But I trust that God knows infinitely better than I do what is best for my family and me.

    Louann, I love that song. Indeed, it is my anthem – this year and always!

  4. The theme for my past year is ‘He is sufficient’ – as we have planted a church, went bi-vocational in order it do it, experienced a distressing family situation,, and now morning-sickness that has lasted 30 weeks for baby number 4….. all through it all I wondered ” Lord how can I keep going?” – and yet, here I am, encouraged, grown, rebuked at times and tenderly comforted at others, and as we approach our church 1 year anniversary just amazed at what the Lord has done. He is good and He is Sufficient.

  5. Wow, Lauree! What a year!!! His grace is sufficient, and sometimes His strength looks more like plodding through than soaring over, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

