Family · just for fun · kid stuff

Dinner Tonight

Here are the topics covered in dinner conversations tonight:

Pete Rose and his being banned from the Hall of Fame.

Donte Stallworth accidentally killing a man by reckless driving.

Jason explaining international trading systems in soccer. (snooooorrrre…oops, excuse me, I think I dozed off for a second).

Quick drill of post office abbreviations for as many states as we could come up with.

All of the Mallinaks read the Bible from Genesis to Revelation, even Benjamin who is about halfway through.

Brothers in our old neighborhood whose mom hadn’t married her boyfriend (who apparently called all of the boys the “A” word) after two years.

Quick teachable moment by dad about our attitude toward unbelievers who can’t help but sin because unlike Christians they don’t have the power of the gospel at work in them.

A few funny parts Maggie remembered ย in a Junie B. Jones book.

What we should name future children in the family. Caleb wants us to have twins: Simeon and Jude. (no, this is not an announcement of some sort.)

This was a fairly typical conversation at our dinner table. I love the constant chatter even if 80% has to do with sports. I don’t want to forget these normal moments that represent a very sweet season of parenting.

***

What I still have a hard time believing is that it didn’t include:

Eat two more bites

Sit down

No you may not be excused from the table

Stop touching your brother

Potty break 1, 2, and 3 (and at least one visit requiring my “help”)

Sit down.

That doesn’t count as a bite.

No you did not eat enough to have dessert.

Two more bites.

Okay, it’s time for your bath.

***

And yes, Joshua finally solved the Rubik’s cube. It hasn’t left his side ever since. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Dinner Tonight

  1. Love that pic of your family at dinner!

    Glad to know that some day the dinner conversation at my house will be more like yours and less like that second “conversation” you included. We’re definitely at the sit down and eat your food stage. Actually, tonight my boys didn’t eat ANY of their food. Hmmm.

    And that’s really funny your kids want twin. I bet you laugh or shutter at this thought!!

  2. I love those twin names. But what if they are girl twins?! Not quite so fitting then. =) I find myself anxious to get out of the “you may not throw your food on the floor. Since you disobeyed, you have to be spanked” stage..but then I realize how quickly she’s growing up, and I don’t quite mind training her in the littlest things.

    Thanks for sharing your sweet memories.

  3. one of my fav.posts. love seeing your fam.love hearing about your dailies. miss you much. trying to relish the days of “sit down and eat our dinner” but admittedly am very much looking forward to the days of real conversation with my sweeties. Not sure I believe you, though, that they will eat me out of house and home…just don’t know that I’ve got eaters (but for their sweets, of course). ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

