Miscellaneous

Titus 2 in the Kitchen: Judy’s Corn and Cheddar Chowder

Some of my all time favorite recipes to make during the autumn weather were passed down to me from the kitchens of women whose culinary skills aren’t the only thing I love and respect about them. Every time I make them, I think of the lady from whose kitchen it came. I love that Titus 2 can take place in the kitchen across the miles and the years.

This first recipe comes from my first pastor’s wife, Judy Phillips. Judy is an amazing cook! If ever you see a recipe featured from her kitchen make it your own. When I make this soup, I think of more than Judy’s culinary talents. I think about her love for her home, her adventurous spirit to follow her husband to Mexico City (with 4 children!!!), and her heart for encouraging ladies in their pursuit of biblical womanhood. I remember being a senior in highschool, taking a writing class from Judy in her home (do you remember that, Karen?). She often made muffins (the pumpkin recipe is here ) and while we learned to “show not tell” in our writing, we were also learning how appealing a home kept by one who loved being there could be. So when I make Corn and Cheddar Chowder, in some small way, though I haven’t seen Judy for years and she lives miles away in Colorado, she is with me in the kitchen, and I always thank God for her role in my life as a young woman.

Judy’s Corn & Cheddar Chowder (I double or triple this every time because we all love it!!!)

Step 1- Boil

2 diced potatoes for 15-20 minutes in:

2 pints chicken broth (4 cups)

1 bay leaf

½ tsp. sage

½ tsp. cumin

2 tsp. paprika

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Step 2- Sautee in a separate pot:

3 Tbsp. butter

2 finely chopped onions

2 cloves minced garlic

 

Step 3- Add

3 Tbsp. flour into butter mixture. Mix well.

 

Step 4- Add

¾ cup evaporated milk and

½ cup milk to step 3

 

Step 5- Boil

Until thickened

 

Step 6- Combine

Butter/flour mixture to the potatoes/broth mixture

 

Step 7- Add

1 ½ cups frozen corn

1 (4oz.) can of chilis chopped

 

Step 8 – Add last*

1 ½ cups grated sharp cheddar cheese

½ cup white wine

 

*serve right after cheese melts (don’t add cheese and wine until you are ready to serve it).

More Titus 2 recipes to come……

 

 

6 thoughts on “Titus 2 in the Kitchen: Judy’s Corn and Cheddar Chowder

  1. Well said, Laurie. I agree completely! Judy is one of my heros and I’m grateful for her influence in my life. I love her pound cake recipe it reminds me of Marilyn Templeton’s wedding 🙂

  2. Some of my most treasured childhood memories surround Judy, her family, writing classes, and her COOKING! 🙂 God truly blessed me with friends and mentors in my life.

  3. Hi Laurie, Thank you for your kind words and encouragement. I am so so blessed to have made a contribution in your formation as a godly wife and homemaker and as a passionate follower of Jesus.

    I wanted to mention that for years I have added some meat to this recipe (not too much). It could be the broth and meat from a turkey carcass after Thanksgiving, or a couple of chicken 1/4’s, or stew beef. I cook the meat with the spices in 2 or 3 qts of water to make the broth. Then after the meat is tender, I add the potatoes and proceed from there with the recipe. As a matter of fact, I am making a pot now for a church lunch on Sunday. One of our favorite fellowship meals is when 8 or 10 women bring crockpots of homemade soups, and others bring homemade rolls. : ) Simple, but delicious for a light meal together. This Sunday we are celebrating the baptism of 7 new believers.

  4. I tripled this recipe for our church luncheon today and it was a great hit!! Everyone loved it! Thanks, Laurie and Judy!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

