Akron Adventure

The Low Down on Re-lo

Relocating. It’s the story of my life these days. I want to write some memoirs of my experiences for my own benefit and maybe for the benefit of other ladies who find themselves leaving one place for another. We are all different, so the experience of relocating will vary from person to person. I’d love to hear from any of you who have been there, done that. And I’d really love to hear from any of you who are right smack in the middle of a relocation.

I have sat down to write about this move from Maryland to Ohio so many times and don’t know where to begin. Do I start with the time Jason came home from work and showed me what would end up being a life-altering email from Dave Harvey about Jason’s potential future? Do I start with the conversation with my parents at Red Lobster when my mom sat beside my dad, brave but pale faced as they told us we were beginning the process of sending Jason out from Chesapeake to serve in another location? Do I go all of the way back to the moment I believe God placed in my twelve-year-old heart faint echoes of “Here am I, Send me.”?

I don’t know where to start, but I do know that the theme of any post I write giving the low down on relocating is that through the excitement and the fears, through the lessons and the losses, through the victories and the defeats, God has been so faithful. I marvel when I consider His faithfulness, patience, grace, mercy and compassion through this experience. He has sent us, and in the process, He is revealing Himself to us in a way that I will never capture in a blog post. But somehow, I really do want to try.

10 thoughts on “The Low Down on Re-lo

  1. well, you inspired be. We relocated two years ago. I had so much to say, but didn’t know where to start. Today I was able to put my thoughts together. Can’t wait to read the rest of your blog about moving.

  2. I’m with you in the struggle to put our relo into words…though my experience had the blessing of moving “back home” after years of waiting. Finally ALL of the puzzles pieces fit together at the same time. What a whirlwind, but one we knew that only God could orchestrate.

    Looking forward to reading more. :o)

  3. I am definitely looking forward to reading about your relocation. My husband and I have an interesting relocation story ourselves and I’d love to hear someone else’s perspective!

  4. There’s a saying about coaches in Texas…You’ve either been fired or you’re gonna be. So, it’s not surprising that we hit our 12 year anniversary in our 13th house. I’m so grateful to say that yesterday at anniversary 19 we are still in the same house!!

    But I echo what I hear in you…God was still God no matter where we traveled. Still faithful, still providing, still meeting me in my pain and joys, still true to His promises…It was a good lesson for me in so many ways. I’m sure my heart will resonate what you write. I look forward to reading it.

  5. Please do write more–As i type, i am staring at the boxes i have been packing for 2weeks! I am relocating to a different country as a missionary and would so love to hear someone else’s experience of moving,even if just to get words for my own thoughts and emotions(and oh yes i am being quite emotional in ways that i don’t quite understand!)

  6. God is faithful. Amen and Amen!!! Here we are in another country across the ocean (where yes, the food and weather really do stink). But God has been so faithful to provide us with all that we need…and some! Having a webcam helps, too!

  7. I’m so glad you’re going to try! It will bless you probably more than anyone else (and your children one day), but I know it bless others as well. It is such a common experience while incredibly individual at the same time….just like mourning (and in re-locating, there can be a sense of mourning).

    You are so right that no words can fully capture the experience of God’s faithfulness in these transitions of life He calls us to, but I know He will be honored in your trying. 🙂

    I love you, friend, and miss you greatly..cried myself to sleep last night looking through my special scrapbook you and others put together for my 30th…just sobbed when I came to your page. Miss your face and all your kiddos (and Jason, too). 🙂

  8. Looking fwd to your trial–I mean your trying to express your feelings:)-. I read the Journey…Destination post, too. This is the day the Wilsons are moving. I dropped Stephen off to help load the van w/ other CDSers and asked Kathy how she was feeling. She said she didn’t know. She said she kept turning circles. She had that “better smile to keep from crying” look on her face. I gave her a hug and she dashed off to get a phone call. For me it was a welcome relief from standing there on the verge of crying, too.

  9. I’ve relocated many time as the daughter of an Army officer. And now I’m entering my fifth week in Scotland. My husband and three children and I have relocated here for my husband to study for his PhD. I’ve just gotten back on the internet and am eager to read your posts on relocation. Maybe it will help me as I seek to sort out the emtions. I can say without a doubt that the Lord is extremely faithful and has blessed us with much more than I could ever have expected.

Leave a Reply

