quotable kiddos

Quotable Kiddos: Bring It On, Bobby Flay

The only way my boys would ever watch a cooking show is if there is some sort of competition involved. Throw Down With Bobby Flay is one we have seen a few times. In case you aren’t familiar, the premise is that Bobby Flay, a famous chef, surprises a local cook to their specialty (Philly Cheese Steaks, Cupcakes, Fried Chicken, etc.) and challenges them to a throw down (each cooking the specialty which is then judged).

A couple of weeks ago I made one of my kids favorites, monkey bread. Monkey Bread is canned biscuits cut in quarters and covered in cinnamon, sugar, and butter. I had to laugh when one of my boys said, “Hey mom, you should challenge Bobby Flay to a throw down for your Monkey Bread!”

My culinary expertise is simply staggering.

Bring it on Bobby Flay.

7 thoughts on “Quotable Kiddos: Bring It On, Bobby Flay

  1. Hilarious! Joel (and I ) are huge Bobby Flay fans. In fact, he just had a small autobiographical article of sorts in the Guideposts mag.

    I love Monkey Bread. How about you and I do a throwdown?! I’ll throw down the money and you make it!

  2. I’m a big Bobby Flay fan too. In fact, my cousin is dating Bobby Flay’s wife’s sister. I’m hoping they get married so I can meet him! Unfortunately, I can’t get his show over here in England.
    By the way, I know you’re over-blogged already, but if you ever want to check out mine, it’s http://www.strykerinvasion.blogspot.com. It’s been nice reading your blog, and keeping up with the Reyeses.

  3. I may not be acquainted with Throw Down, but my mom also makes legendary monkey bread! It’s a Christmas morning tradition. Come to think of it, she makes it pretty rarely except for at Christmas, so my brother and I consider it a special treat. A few years back, she contemplated not making it, and my brother and I nearly staged a mutiny. Fixed that problem real quick!

  4. I hope you don’t mind, I found your blog through my sister Megan.
    It’s great to hear of how God is working in Akron from way over here in Massachusetts!
    I had the chance to meet your husband at Na and I hope that I’ll be able to meet you in person sometime soon too.
    Praying for your family and church… and just let me know if you ever need a babysitter :-).

    P.S. I’m not that experienced with monkey bread, and I’d like to remedy that, but my mom makes great scones!

Leave a Reply

