Recipes

Fun Munchies

Here are a few of my favorite alternatives to chips and dip, salsa, etc. These are a fun to bring to caregroup if you have snack, or to have at your next party or celebration. They are easy, require little to no preparation, and taste yummy. You may want to still have a “normal” munchie in case your group isn’t adventurous. But honestly, all of my kids eat this stuff, and so does my meat and potatoes husband.

Pita Chips and Hummus
pita-chips.jpgWe love these chips (we get ours at Sam’s Club) with hummus. You can either make your own Hummus or buy some – we like it both ways!

Steamed Edamame with Sea Salt

edamame.jpg If you haven’t discovered Edamame (soy beans in pods), let me introduce you. It is more addictive than popcorn, and healthier at that! You pop the beans from the pod, directly into your mouth. You will want to have an empty bowl for the leftover pods. This is sooooo yummy! Look in your freezer section for the least expensive. Our Wal Mart Supercenter carries them fresh and frozen.

Pretzels with southwestern ranch dip

My sister-in-law Abby turned me on to this combo. We use the tic tac toe style pretzel and a southwestern ranch dip from the refrigerator section of the grocery store. You can find hundreds of Southwestern ranch dip online if you google for a recipe. So simple and so tasty.

Hot Artichoke dip (served with butter crackers  and tortilla chips)

I first had this years ago at Peggy Carr’s house when she had a scrapbooking party. I never caught on with the scrapbooking but I’ve been using this recipe ever since! I usually double it for a big group.

1 (14 oz.) can artichoke hearts, drained
1 c. Parmesan cheese
1/2 c. Best Foods real mayo
1/2 c. sour cream
1 (8 oz.) pkg. cream cheese, softened
1/2 tsp. garlic salt
1  small onion finely chopped (I like red)

Top with chopped tomatoes for a prettier presentation and a little bit of flavor.

Chop artichoke hearts and combine all ingredients together and pour into greased oven proof dish. Cook 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Serve with chips and crackers. Bruschetta

You can actually buy bruschetta topping in a jar, and toast/chips in a bag. It’s so easy that way and tastes great.

Your turn! What are your favorite, easy recipes for munchies? 

10 thoughts on “Fun Munchies

  1. Yum! I like the pretzel chips at Sams, have you seen them?
    Sometimes we add chocolate chips to a bag of just popped popcorn and shake…..kinda messy but really good if you like salty and sweet together…I’ve been told m&m’s work well for that to, but they don’t last very long around our house so I’ve never tried it that way:o)

  2. Mmm. I love Edamame and Hot Artichoke dip! My recipe is pretty much like yours, but has dill in it. I also love hot spinach dip!

  3. You know I’m a sweet tooth, so my munchies will likely be sweet:

    I just made this easy monkey bread last night for the first time. Here’s the link to the recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Monkey-Bread-2/Detail.aspx

    I love no-bake cookies, too..for a quick treat:
    (I have this recipe memorized and able to 1/4 it b/c otherwise, I’ll eat all of them in a day!). Here’s a link to a recipe closest to the one I use here at home:
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/No-Bake-Cookies-III/Detail.aspx

    One snack I completely associate with the Buckley/Reyes old caregroup is this:
    Cover a block of cream cheese w/ green jalapeno jelly or red pepper jelly and serve with crackers. Sounds weird, but it’s yummy. 🙂

  4. were you spying on my household today ;)? We were eating mini pitas with hummus as an after school snack! (not homemade but yummy trader joes variety!)

    now as a standby if I am asked to bring in snackie poos to work etc I love the old round loaf of rye bread hollowed out and filled with dill dip and served with the bread and carrots. yummy!

  5. Ooooh, I love that rye bread and dill dip recipe. I have to try that sometime.

    Bri, I’m a sweet tooth too. I love monkey bread!

  6. I’m not a big fan of the soy snacks that are now gaining popularity. For women it can be ok, but for young boys who are developing and even any man, the estrogen levels are too high and can mess with with their hormones. Here’s a good study I found on Men’s Health.

    Why Low Carb is High Soy and Bad for Men

  7. Im so craving that artichoke dip. Seriously craving it. Thank you for the recipe and the post.

  8. Keith, yikes…didn’t know about the estrogen thing. I’ll have to keep my boys away from the edamame! 🙂 I’ll read the article at some point. We aren’t soy-crazy over here. I just love the flavor.

  9. I’ve been meaning to mention one of my all-time favorite healthy munchie recipes! Vegetable Pizza! If you don’t have the recipe, I’ll be sure to share! 🙂

    BTW, just read the poem. Not only did it bring sweet tears to my eyes, it lifted my heart! Thank you for sharing your God-honoring gift with all of us!

Leave a Reply

