Akron Adventure · Spiritual Musings

Divine Power For Rush Hour

Has this ever happened to you? Have you ever passed a significant test of faith only to fail a rather small one? Like follow your husband to move to Ohio but whine and complain on the car ride there about being stuck in Frederick’s rush hour. Truth is there aren’t nearly as many big “tests” as there are pop quizzes so to speak. These pop quizzes are part of everyday life. A pop quiz in everyday life is found in the bathroom where we find our toddler has put an entire roll of toilet paper into the toilet…and then took it out again. One quiz takes place in Target where the person in front of us needed a price check on three different items. Then there is the pop quiz of the phone call from our husband that he is going to be home late…again. Or the high maintenance boss who is freaking out over a deadline. Or the break room where your co-workers are gossiping about that boss. It’s the mountain of laundry knee-deep, and PMS week and sick kids and…well you get the idea.

I think sometimes we encounter a bigger test and recognize it as an invitation to grow in faith and experience profound grace. Somehow in the big tests we see our weakness more clearly. We know our need for amazing grace. But the pop quizzes often are overlooked as invitations to grow in faith and experience profound grace. We think we should be able to handle this little thing on our own. Of course, we might not say it or even think it consciously. But the truth is, I really am too weak to encounter even small tests without an active dependence on the grace of God. This is humbling. But this is the way to experience the profound power of God at work in my life on an everyday basis, and not just when something significant happens.

2 Peter 1:3 His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to (everyday) life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence.

9 thoughts on “Divine Power For Rush Hour

  1. A whole roll of toilet paper in the toilet.. that’s a good one. I won’t read this post out loud to my toddler. She doesn’t need any more ideas.

    I was just reading Trusting God the other day about the very thing you were talking about. Is God still sovereign over the little things? Indeed he is. What a great reminder. Thank you.

  2. Did you write this for me? 🙂
    You are all too familiar w/ my “soaring” (sort of) through the big stuff while up to my head in my own sin muck through the little stuff (*note today’s email) 🙂
    Actually, while in my pit of sin today, tempted to scream (I mean this literally), I DID experience that profound grace. I didn’t scream…I had actually drawn in my breath and then was in that very moment both prevented by the Holy Spirit and given God’s power to say “no” to my flesh that so much wanted that release. Instead, I took a deep breath, said, “Help me, Lord” for about the 100th time today and took a calm tone with my children…indeed profound grace!
    We’re all in these battles together…praying for you and all your readers that we will forget what is behind and “press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called us heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

  3. would one of those small tests of faith be keeping your cool when you are waiting for your husband to pick you up from work… 2 hours late. haha I really enjoyed the time we had talking on the phone.. God gave me that time to be able to talk to you without interruption. I really enjoyed it!! ( I wonder if the others in the GBMC lobby enjoyed our conversation and my animation as well ?)

    🙂

  4. Oh this is so great Laurie. I often fail in the little pop quizzes too. They happen so fast and my reaction is so fast and often times so wrong. Thanks for the reminder. I know that is why it is important to start everyday first asking God for his help especially in those little things and yet when I am struggling the most that is an area that seems so hard.

  5. PS how is the new city going? Are you out exploring all the new shops and things to do with the kiddos. I always like playing tourist when I first move somewhere. It is an adventure getting lost and learning my way around.

    Hey I am going to check if you have an email link on here but if not email me on my blog so I can email you back….I was going to give you the link to my cousins shop in OH….don’t know if it is close to you or not but maybe if it is you could check it out someday.

  6. I’ve been failing more pop quizzes lately that I can shake a red pen at. Sometimes the demons of unbelief scream so loud, “You will never change. You will always be ugly at the very core; how can you expect anyone to believe you love the Lord? How? How?” It’s been hard for me to believe a lot of things lately, so I needed this.

  7. That’s me. I feel that the big tests of faith I’m able to “pass” (because I’m actually aware they are just that, tests) while the everyday ones, well, not so much. I LOVE that verse you quote. For several years I’ve kept it on an index card that I keep where I can see it.

Leave a Reply

