Spiritual Musings

Compassionate Conqueror

 Temptation. It’s one of those things that we simply will not escape in this life. Sometimes with shocking intensity the lure of escape, entertainment, comfort, ease, power, control, selfishness, anger breaks in on my day with the empty promise of life. I find myself smack dab in the garden of Eden with the sneaky serpent whispering his lies. Eat fruit and live.

Knowing that temptation rears its beautiful head around every corner of my heart, it was with great comfort that I read this today: 

Hebrews 2:18 For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.

Jesus who is fully God has the power to help us when we are tempted. But what sweet comfort that Jesus who was fully man has compassion on us as well. He is not the cold removed heroic warrior, but the faithful, empathetic Brother.  We remember the deity of Christ reigning in omnipotence, able to give us power to overcome. And we remember the High Priest, Brother who understands the power of temptation and is inclined to help us by His mercy.

May I never make the foolish mistake of mustering up willpower to overcome temptation. But with fresh faith in the Savior, may I look to Him to grant power and help the next time I am tempted.

5 thoughts on “Compassionate Conqueror

  1. Hebrews keeps popping up on my radar. I think I’ll have to read through that book again. What a wonderful verse. Thanks for posting it and your thoughts on it.

  2. Danielle, the commentary in my “current reading” is excellent. It has really helped me to slow down and really look carefully at the supremacy of Christ in the book of Hebrews. I highly recommend it, if you like to use a commentary with your Bible reading.

  3. Danielle, It is Hebrews (from the Reformed Expository Commentary series) by Richard D. Phillips. This is the second commentary I have read from this series, and so far I can say they are well worth the investment of time and money.

Leave a Reply

