motherhood · Spiritual Musings

Beggar Mama

This morning we seemed to hit the ground needing a lot of correction. I am grateful for something I read earlier in a book by Lou Priolo called Pleasing People: How Not To Be An Approval Junkie. The context for the statement is the attitude he tries to take with counselees (he is a professional counselor). He says, “I’m not an expert – I’m just one beggar showing another beggar where to find the bread. ” (pg. 196) This is the posture I want to take when correcting the kids today. I’m not better than they are, though my sins look a bit more refined. I’m just another beggar. I may happen to know where the Bread is only because I have needed it more and longer than my kids.

One thought on “Beggar Mama

Leave a Reply

