Akron Adventure · Household Management!

Your 2 Cents

sold-our-house.jpg

We finally sold our house. Our settlement date is October 31st. My emotions regarding our move are all over the map making it difficult to put two sentences together that would make any sense. Sooooo, I have decided to be practical about this. Well, actually, since I’m NOT very practical, I am asking for help. Over the next few days I would love to hear your 2 cents about a variety of topics. Please leave your comments, post on your blogs, or use the “contact me” button to email with your brilliant (yes, you are ALL brilliant and I can’t wait to hear from you 🙂 ) ideas.

Today’s I-need-your-brain topic is: packing. If you have any information, links, websites, ideas about the practical aspects of packing a house to move, I’d love to hear from you. I’ve moved a couple of times before, but know I can learn more. Honestly, one move is a complete blur. (The boys were 3, 3, and 2 and I had Maggie 10 days later – yes, we’re nuts!)

Where to begin?

What to keep out?

How to avoid putting my kids in front of the TV while I pack?

How to get them involved in packing…without losing my mind?

Anything you can think of, please.

13 thoughts on “Your 2 Cents

  1. Wow Laurie I can’t even imagine all of the emotions you must be feeling! You have my deepest respect and I will be praying for you.

    I haven’t moved in awhile but one thing I did with our last move that helped out a lot was to make a master list of what was in each box. A little tedious and I dind’t have three kids at the time. But I put a number on each box once it was packed and put the same number on the master list and by it put kitchen, kids bed, master etc. So when moving in day came I stood by the door and someone would walk in with a box tell me the number and I could look on my list and tell them what room to take it too.

    Also I wrapped my dishes with my towels. Packed two things at once and it worked great as protection.

    I’ll be curious to here everyone else’s ideas. I think I move might be in our near future…

  2. Here’s my 1 cent (I’m not sure it’s worth a full 2!)
    -colored labels are helpful, a color for each room/area that you can just stick on the box
    -first things can be artwork wrapped in guest or seasonal linens; boardgames & videos/dvds (you may want to keep out a couple each); seasonal dishes; books (again you may want to keep out some for the kids)
    -have a trash bag with you when you pack – it’s surprising what you find!
    -hand the kids a box and say “Pack the videos” “Pack the boardgames” “Pack the linens” “Pack your toys” “Pack the books”
    -look in the box your kids packed before you tape it up – it’s surprising what you find, again!
    -don’t hand the kids a box and say “pack the dishes”
    -my parents don’t unpack their dressers. They just pull the drawers out, move the dresser onto the moving van and then put the drawers back in. (you might want to cover your undie drawer with a towel though!)

    Wow, you won’t have time to pack if you read all that! Hope it helps a little.

  3. Well, I can’t speak to the kids aspect, but my dad worked for a moving company a while back and my mom is a FlyLady addict, so needless to say I’ve moved with some structure!

    Things that were helpful: (some of these things you’d probably find on the FlyLady website that Beth gave you)
    1) My dad refuses to move anything that’s not in a box, because things get lost, mishandled, etc. Whether furniture items were moved with things in them depended on the location, who was doing the moving, and how many stairs had to be negotiated! A full dresser is much heavier than an empty one.
    2) They insisted that every box be marked CLEARLY on top with the contents. As much of a pain as this could be when packing, it made things SO much easier on the other end! I didn’t have to unpack every box to find things. “Stuff” is a bad word here, as much as you’ll hit your wit’s end and want to use it!
    3) Like Tara, used towels to wrap dishes and other breakables. Got to pack the towels anyway – might as well put them to good use!
    4) Pack sheets/blanket/pillows for each bed in an easily accessible spot. As soon as the boxes and furniture were in, my mom would bust open this box and make the beds. That way, even if NOTHING else got done, there was a spot to take a nap, because we all know how tiring this is, and sometimes you need a nap prior to unpacking! (And there’s nothing worse than a long day ending in realizing that you have to do more unpacking to go to bed!)

  4. I certainly won’t offer any packing wisdom, because despite having moved 12 times, it looks like there are folks responding who are way more wise about it than me. My plan was just to put stuff in boxes and label! Nothing strategic about that.

    But, I did want to say congrads on selling your house! I’m sure it’s a HUGE relief!

  5. I remember making about ten trips to drop stuff off at the Salvation Army~that certainly helped get rid of stuff. I made a huge mistake in getting rid of things without asking and I still hear about it from my kids..so do not do that!!

  6. We moved last year, with a six-week old and two small kiddos…
    Some things that helped me:
    – Before I started doing anything, I walked around the house room by room and made a general list of what needed to be packed in it (aside from furniture)
    – Then i went back, and figured out what I could do ahead of time, 2 weeks ahead, 1 week ahead, etc…
    – I wasn’t quite together enough to make a whole master list w. numbered boxes; but i did write every box title the same way: upper corner. titled w. room, than underneath bullet points of what was inside.
    – something that really helped me was this packing tape that a friend gave me from a moving/packing type store. there were 8 different colors, each labeled with a different room of the house. after a box was ready, i slapped a strip of that on, so i could easily see where that box was to go.
    – also, at a moving store, you can buy large rolls of saran wrap, similar to what the real moving companies use to wrap furniture. i wrapped all of our dresser drawers in them, so we didn’t have to remove any contents. everything held up great.
    – if you’re in real need of boxes, Sams Club (or i imagine Costco) sells bundles of moving boxes. it was nice to have these sturdy boxes for things like dishes, that i didn’t want to get broken.
    – oh, and speaking of dishes, i wrapped most of my serving dishes, and also picture frames, vases, etc in our bed linens.

    We’ll be praying for you during this transition!

  7. Hello Laurie…
    I don’t have any tips for you…I just wanted to let you know that I am so excited for you! CB was rubbing his hands for you and your family 🙂 Know that we are praying for you as you continue this transition and we look forward to hearing how God will use the Reyes family in OH! God Bless….Shannon Eder

  8. I know Mom mentioned something about me being able to get boxes from work, but unfortunately, we crush them right away. So unless you happen to be there while we’re unpacking, it is generally difficult to get them from us.

    I don’t know if you need/want any help with packing, but I love to pack and am willing to help. I will try to remember to call you tomorrow about helping pack if I don’t have too much homework.

  9. Okay, so no great packing advice from the single girl…but…

    Check craigslist (www.craigslist.com) for free moving boxes. Also, 5 years ago, when my family moved to California, we got the majority of our boxes from the Walmart in Abingdon. I think we had to call the night before, and then go and pick them up early the next morning. I don’t know if they still do this, but it’s worth looking into.

  10. Hey, I posted on my blog recently that I needed advice about packing, (we are moving to Gaithersburg for a year) and Kim reminded me of this post. These comments have been huge!
    Thanks so much!

  11. Hi Laurie,

    If you need some extra hands, encouragement, and motivation – I’m a professional organizer specializing in downsizing/transitions. If you get overwhelmed, give me a call! I’m in Cuyahoga Falls. 330-922-0755.

Leave a Reply

