Akron Adventure

This is the Day That the Lord Has Made

I will rejoice and be glad in it.

Today our contract on the house in Wadsworth expires.  Honestly, I really thought we would have sold our house by now.

In my human wisdom, I thought it would be nice to not have keep a house clean to show with 4 children under foot for several weeks.

In my human wisdom, I thought it would be nice to not have the temptation to anxiety ever creeping at my heart’s door on top of the other emotions I’m experiencing these days.

In human wisdom (arrogant, human wisdom) I thought that since I am making this huge sacrifice of moving, of course God would work everything out in the easiest, most comfortable way with regard to the house.

But today I rejoice that the One who knows all, who IS wisdom has this situation in His hands.  Where I have been impatient, He has shown immeasurable patience. Where I have sinned in my worry, anxiety, and unbelief, He has shown Himself profoundly faithful. Where in my extreme pride I have questioned His wisdom, He has forgiven me, washed me, and filled me with fresh joy in and appreciation for the Cross. How unworthy I am that God would kindly withold what I thought I needed so that I might know something more of Him: His mercy, patience, forebearance, faithfulness. Yes, He has once again demonstrated that HE is God, and I am not – but He has humbled me gently.

So I do ask for continued prayers that our house will sell soon, if that’s what God would have. But even more I ask that you would pray that Jason and I would learn whatever it is God has planned in the wait, to the praise of His glorious grace.

7 thoughts on “This is the Day That the Lord Has Made

  1. I know it’s hard to wait for a house to sell. But I am excited to hear the testimony that will come when it finally does sell. As I said before, our old house took 367 days to sell, but the five-day club I hosted in the last 3 weeks resulted in the salvation of 2 out 3 attendees! What’s more, the previous owners of our current home had turned down HIGHER offers and the houas sat (which I thought would never happen) until we bought it for LESS than the other ppl offered. Don’t lose faith. Be strong and of good courage. THe best is ahead.

  2. Hey Laurie,
    Just wanted to let you know that Stacie and her husband had their house on the market for almost a year, but the end was worth it. In a matter of days, a couple from out of state moved to their town and thought their house was a steal! You see, Louisiana is CHEAP CHEAP compared to other states. Not only did Stacie and John make a nice little profit, but they sold it with no difficulties! God is good and His ways are NOT meant to be understood! Stacie almost had heart failure each month writing TWO house payments, but the end was a good one.
    Hang in there! Your time will come and God will see you through it. Can I get an Amen!:)
    Give my best to everyone
    Mary

  3. Just came home from Care Group & wanted to let you know that we prayed for you all, for your house there, your future house here & for all the transitions you must be going through with the move. May God be made much as we all wait 🙂
    with friendship,
    ~Karla

  4. BE PATIENT THE BEST IS YET TO COME THE LORD HAS SOMETHING MUCH BIGGER IN STORE FOR YOU THE HOUSE AND CAR OR VAN THAT YOUR WANTING WILL COME THREW IN DUE TIME ALWAYS REMEMBER PATIENTS IS A VERTUE. MAY THE LORD BLESS YOUR FAMILY LIKE I KNOW HE WILL.
    CALESA

  5. BE PATIENT THE BEST IS YET TO COME THE LORD HAS SOMETHING MUCH BIGGER IN STORE FOR YOU THE HOUSE AND CAR OR VAN THAT YOUR WANTING. EVERTHINGWILL COME THREW IN DUE TIME ALWAYS REMEMBER PATIENTS IS A VERTUE. MAY THE LORD BLESS YOUR FAMILY LIKE I KNOW HE WILL.
    CALESA

Leave a Reply

