Recipes

Yummy Hummus

Our new obsession in the Reyes house:

Jim and Marcia Walter’s Hummus Recipe (one of the first things I’m doing in Akron is copying every recipe from Marcia’s recipe box. She is an outstanding cook!)

 1 can garbanzo beans

3 T. lemon juice

2 cloves garlic

3 T.  tahini

3/4 t. salt

2 T. olive oil

dash o’ tobasco

Combine all ingredients in a food processor until smooth.

*we had hummus at Red Brick Station last Monday and they served it with finely diced red onion, black olives, jalepenos, tomatoes, and cucumbers. We loaded our pita triangles with whatever combo suited our fancy. Really yummy stuff!

*if you want to make a big batch of this, I have the amounts for a large recipe. Just request them in the “contact me” section.

7 thoughts on “Yummy Hummus

  1. Laurie,
    This recipe is also really good with cumin and roasted red peppers added. We LOVE humus; ever since we started the South Beach kick, it’s been one of our favorite and most used snack recipes!

    Oh, and I’ve found that Wegman’s Tahini is the best and easiest to use!

  2. Zo, if you can’t get to Wegman’s for your tahini (which I can’t usually), I found it at Weis. It is basically sesame seed peanut butter (not sweet, though). Very yum.

    Libby, thanks for the suggestions. I’ve had it pre-made with roasted red peppers, but haven’t made it myself.

    Megan, we love eating at the Walters. When we stayed there, it was like a bed and breakfast.

  3. I love hummus too. I have a recipe I got from a co-worker that’s delicious. I’ll have to try this too. I think I got my tahini at Weis too.

Leave a Reply

