reading

Reading Rut

I’m stuck in a reading rut. I keep reading old classic literature. I love it, but I’m ready for something modern. I have no idea what has been written recently, so could you please fill my comment box with suggestions, or post something on your own blog?

Also, if you read through a feed, you may not know that I have a new feature on my blog that says “contact me”. If you ever want to comment or make a suggestion and do not want others to see you, you can use this feature to write directly to my e-mail. Pretty cool stuff 🙂 .

12 thoughts on “Reading Rut

  1. Modern stuff? Is there anything modern and good that isn’t borrowed from the classics? OK. There’s my bias upfront.

    My sister recommended Darcy’s Story to me awhile back. It’s Darcy’s “perspective” on the events of P and P. My husband mocked it when he saw it because “the guy’s perspective” is “written by a chick”.

    I recently read Sister Chicks on the Loose. It wasn’t bad. Kinda fluffy, but interesting.

    I guess I’m in a classic rut, too. Will have to keep checking back here for other suggestions.

  2. Laurie, my book club always helps keep me out of “ruts”! Books I’ve read/am reading and really enjoyed:

    Life of Pi by Yann Martel (hard to get through in the beginning, but TOTALLY worth the plough through the first few chapters!)

    The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson (non-fiction. story of world’s fair in Chicago. EXCELLENT read so far!)

    Hope that helps!

  3. love your “contact me” form…you beat me to blogging about that this week (not directed at you–but at another blogger I was trying to contact and couldn’t find a way to do it other than commenting!) 🙂

    as for book recommendations…most of my reading lately has been along the lines of “Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth,” “Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way,” etc. 🙂 but let me think. I read and loved “Peace Like a River” by Leif Enger a while back. Steinbeck’s “East of Eden” isn’t new, but isn’t really an OLD classic, and it’s in the “readable-more-than-once” category for me. I also read Jodi Picoult’s “Plain Truth” a few months ago and that was a real page-turner.

    Series-wise, in Christian fiction, I think I already recommended all my favorites to you once before, so I’ll avoid repeating myself 🙂

  4. I’ve been in a reading rut too! At least in regards to fiction. The last good fictional book I read was “Gilead” by Marilynne Robinson. It’s a beautifully written but a very quiet book. It’s slow to start with and I had to stick with it, but really enjoyed it.

    I’ve read some good non-fiction recently though, that reads like fiction. “Under the Tuscan Sun” has been enjoyable. And Madeline L’Engle’s “Two-Part Invention: The Story of a Marriage” is absolutely beautiful and engaging. I had to admit it had me crying by the end. It goes back and forth from “present” to past. She tells the story of meeting, marrying, and life with her husband as he is in the hospital with cancer.

    I think for fiction I’m going to try some classics to get out of my rut: “Bleak House” and “Wives and Daughters” seem promising, and FishMama has recommended P.D. James for mystery books, and since they’re compared to Agatha Cristie and Dorothy Sayers, I think I’ll have to give them a try. And Libby’s suggesting look interesting to me.

    Let me know what ends up getting you out of your rut!!

  5. I’ve got just the thing. Humor. Read car ads on Craigs List. http://www.craigslist.com. (WARNING : NOT craiglist–that’s a naughty place I found out the hard way) but craigSlist.) The funniest ones are the super honest people who tell you everything wrong it sounds like they really don’t want to sell rheir car or else they get a bang out of all its quirks. I’d call them ADS BY KAREN H. I’m serious. It’ll get you out of rut cuz there’s something new every day. Just pull up any car make and model, any city, and have fun.

  6. I just finished reading “Suite Francaise” by Irene Nemerovsky. It was fascinating! Mrs. Nemerovsky was a Russian born Jew who immigrated to France before WWII. Her novel was written in the French countryside and Paris and although fiction was based on what was happening around her. She focused on the people more than on events. They were the background for her story.
    The most interesting part was that she never finished her novel. She was killed in a concentration camp after 2 parts of the 5 intended were completed. Her novel was saved by her daughters who went into hiding and published just a few years ago. In the version that I read (from the library) her letters to her husband and publisher were included as well as her notes for finishing her story.

  7. Thank you to all who made suggestions. I am in the middle of reading Emma, but once I finish I will definitely choose one of the books listed here.

    thank you. thank you. thank you.

  8. Christina, nice to hear you liked “Suite Francaise.” It’s on my reading list after a co-worker of mine told me she’d read it in her book club and it sounded so interesting.

  9. I have read the “Life of Pi” and found it both interesting and disturbing. 😉

    My most recent reads have been “The Hiding Place” and the last Harry Potter book, which I know people have issues with…

    “The Secret Life of Bees” was very interesting and a book I enjoyed because it was a different sort of book for me. The writing was superb. You could feel and smell what the author was describing.

Leave a Reply

