motherhood

Inspiration for Parenting Littles

Our Ladies Bible Study (now called Ruby Tuesdays) is doing a series on mothering right now. My good friend Kathy Wilson taught about “Thoughtful Parenting for the Early” years last Tuesday. I will post the link as soon as the podcast becomes available.

In the meantime, you may want to go to the Metro Moms blog as they are doing a similar series right now. This post talks about the fact that first time, joyful obedience is possible by the grace of God. And today’s post  (called Rewards and Roleplay) gives some direction as to how to help your littles learn to obey right away, all the way, in a happy way. I love her rewards section in particular.

And if you’re like me and you no longer have littles, but are still working on first time, joyful obedience, there is still much that can be applied to the slightly older children as well. Come to think of it, I think there needs to be a teaching for moms called, “Obeying Right Away, All the Way, and In A Happy Way”.  I’m still working on that myself!

4 thoughts on “Inspiration for Parenting Littles

  1. I’m reading the Metro Moms series with great interest…over the last few months I’ve seen a lot of opinions about parenting/discipline methods and am paying more attention now 🙂 Here’s my question, though: The first time I heard about the whole concept of “obey joyfully the first time” it made SOO much sense to me. But since then I’ve heard it questioned, and I wonder, by training children to obey cheerfully every time, are you training them to be fake or suppress their real emotions? I mean, let’s be honest–no one (definitely not me) feels cheerful all the time. Do kids feel unable to ever express how they feel if they’re punished for not putting on a happy face when mom or dad asks them to do something? How does that play out?

  2. I ordered a copy of that “Don’t Make me Count to Three” book and I’m so excited to start reading it. I thought Kathy did an amazing job teaching us. I want to share the podcast with a few other mommies who were unable to make it when it becomes available. Good stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

