Spiritual Musings · Wifehood

Proverbs 31:10

cardboard-box.jpgProverbs 31:10 An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels.

excellent: The amplified refers to her as capable, intelligent, and virtuous. We begin with a description of who she is rather than what she does.

wife: I find it interesting that being a mother isn’t what this lady is known for. And yet because of the season of life I am in, when children seem to be all-consuming, I tend to evaluate my mothering more regularly than my wife-ing (what’s the word?).

who can find? This type of gal is not easy to find. And yet when I look at the single girls in our church I can see many who would be a great find for a smart guy. These ladies are proving their excellence in the workplace, at home with their family, in their ministry responsibilities, etc. You go girls!!!

more precious than jewels: How is this possible?  How is any of it possible? When I look at myself, I see okay-ish on a good day, not excellent. When I see the word jewel it reminds me of another treasure that makes it possible for me to become more like the rare, cherished, and excellent wife.

2 Corinthians 4:7 But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.

Yes, I aspire to be like my friend: an excellent wife.  The truth is that I am a simple jar of clay; the equivalent of a cardboard box, as one pastor put it. And any progress I make in excellence will be because of the treasure of the gospel showing that the surpassing power indeed belongs to God and not to me. 

Father, help me not to make the mistake of reading these verses and trying to be more excellent in my own strength. Thank you for the treasure of the gospel. It is only because of the gospel that I can grow in excellence. Show forth your power in our lives as women  for Your glory.

4 thoughts on “Proverbs 31:10

  1. I appreciate your observation about the verse speaking to being an excellent “wife” and identify w/ the tendency to focus more on mothering in this season….good food for thought.
    And, I love the new music. 🙂

  2. Amen.
    Thanks for sharing these wonderful meditations, Laurie!
    I can’t wait to benefit from your teaching, along with your mom’s and Debbie’s, at the retreat. I still remember the hermit crab illustration you used last time! 🙂

  3. Being more excellent in my own strenght. YOu nailed it; how often I DO that and I dont’ even realize I’m trying in my own strength because it’s usually right after feeling lousy about my performance so I try harder w/o stopping to confess, ask God for grace, and then make a plan. I skip right from feeling bad to trying to do good.

    I, too, like the new music. Makes me type faster and want to get up and put all the laundry really, really, fast!

Leave a Reply

