Miscellaneous

Has It Been That Long?!

Oops! I really didn’t plan to take such a long blog break. Life has been busy around here. I think the main reason I got out of blogging was because of a simple change in schedule. I used to write in the morning when the kids first woke up. Our practice in the past was to ease into the day so to speak, and the boys would come down, read their Bibles, and play until I was ready to get on with business (get dressed, brush teeth, make beds,  do school, etc.). It’s a long story how we got here, but Jason and I decided to change the routine in order to instill a sense of “work before leisure” with the boys. The pre-change pattern was that they would resent being interrupted from play in order to get to work. I dreaded the announcement because I knew they would need correction which could take a while. After looking over a friend of mine’s schedule for her girls, I realized that she wisely moved straight into her day with no relaxed play time in the morning. Brilliant! Why didn’t I think of that? All this to say that I lost that bit of “blog” time in the morning when I started the new way of running things around here. By the time I hit the afternoon, I am tired and not exactly thinking as clearly, and so blogging was either neglected or quite simply forgotten.

Now that I am used to our little “work before leisure” routine, I am really going to try to get back in the habit of writing again. I miss it. I wanted to tell you all about so many things. Where do I begin?

1. My recent conversion from caffeinated coffee to decaf. tea.

2. Izzy’s birthday complete with crazy birth story and football cake.

3. My new favorite online radio program.

4. Back to the homemaking for the mommy years series talking about cleaning schedules.

5. Funny things my kids said last month.

6. My current favorite parenting teaching (summary and exerpt).

I really don’t know which to do first. I’m sure twenty different topics are going to come to mind as soon as I hit “publish”. Any preferences?

I’m glad to be back. I’ve missed you guys. Don’t get me wrong…I always read the latest and the greatest from the blogosphere, just haven’t had time? energy? motivation? to write on my own crazy blog.

11 thoughts on “Has It Been That Long?!

  1. I’d love to hear #3, 4 and 6. I’m glad you’re back. I always enjoy your writing. The change in schedule sounds like a good one, but I know what you mean about trying to write after a full day of teaching. My brain turns to mush!

Leave a Reply

