Household Management! · Spiritual Musings

Housework and His Glory

Why do housework? Why take the area of home management seriously? Truly it could be viewed as the ultimate exercise in futility. Everything you do gets undone. And there is never an end in sight. Regardless of how hard you work, there is always something else that can be cleaned, organized, improved. So what is the point?

I found in the early years of staying home that it was difficult to stay motivated properly, and then to stay properly motivated.  Through the example of older women (primarily my mother), exposure to godly teaching, and my own time in God’s Word I have come to the conclusion that housework is to be done for God’s glory. Nothing else will provide proper motivation, and nothing else will keep me motivated.

Here are a few ways home management can be a way to glorify God:

1. We glorify God when we live our lives as an act of worship. Romans 12:2 says, “I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.”  This can include folding laundry, menu planning, etc.  1 Cor. 10:31 says, “So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all for the glory of God.” Doesn’t this help remove the futility of housework? If we do home management for the glory of God it can be elevated to an act of worship, and thus be very gratifying.

2.  We glorify God when we pursue what the Bible has called us to as women. When we look at the list in Titus 2 of areas we are to be learning as younger women, we see in Titus 2:4 “and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled.”  Home management can be an expression of many of these qualities. It can be an act of love to our husbands and children, it can be a result of cultivating self-control, it can be an expression of kindness, and obviously it falls under the category of being a worker at home.

3. Humble servanthood glorifies God.  Few pursuits offer more opportunities to grow in humble servanthood  than home management. I love how C.J. Mahaney says it in his book Humility, True Greatness:

As sinfully and culturally defined, pursuing greatness looks like this: Individuals motivated by self-interest, self-indulgence, and a false sense of self-sufficiency pursue selfish ambition for the purpose of self-glorification. Contrast that with the pursuit of true greatness as biblically defined: serving others for the glory of God. This is the genuine expression of humility; this is true greatness as the Savior defined it. (pg. 44)

4. When we offer our live as spiritual worship, seek to conform to what the Bible has called us to as women, and live our lives as humble servants we are showing forth the power of the gospel at work in our lives. It is impossible for us to do any of these things without the gospel. Jesus’ death on the cross cleanses us from our sins of self-indulgence, rebellion, and pride. And the Holy Spirit that now resides in the heart of every believer helps us to live for God’s glory.  This will happen primarily in the very daily ways we live our lives.

Don’t you love how the gospel shows itself so brightly right in the minutia of everyday life? It is truly amazing. Think about it.

8 thoughts on “Housework and His Glory

  1. Thanks, Laurie, it’s good to read this post. There are so many times while doing housework I feel rushed so that I can get can to something else. Most of this is because I know that I spend too much time worrying about my state of my home. It’s refreshing to see that I am fulfilling God’s Biblical duty and design for me as a woman. Maybe you’ll have another post about having a happy medium where you will find me a solution to equally balance everything in my life. Sounds like you have some writing to do, huh??? I think I know how to balance things, I just don’t want to hear it 🙂 Thanks again for this post.

  2. I’ve always loved Romans 12:2; it’s always helped me with the mundane tasks of life. I have no problem with staying motivated to do housework at this stage; usually my motivations are because I find joy in it (I’m blessed to enjoy it) but also, like Beth I find that I “worry” about the state of my home and if things aren’t perfect, I must fix them this minute. Balance is what I need! Right now, working outside of the home forces me to balance it, but I know once I’m home, the temptation will be perfectionism (especially because I’ll be home). Thanks for the reminder about how to be rightly motivated.

  3. How about writing something for the girl who often works six hours a day at it but whose work doesn’t alw. ays show up on her husband’s visual screen. I am so discouraged today I could scream. I skipped Bible study to stay home and take care of priorities, didn’t run anywhere except to the post office to mail care packages to Trip. Worked at Alpha, came home and caught flack. I did my work as unto the Lord, but does it count??? I feel like throwing in the towel.

  4. You ladies who love to do housework wanna come over here? Check your judgment at the door first. I am drowning in the feeling of “I’ll never measure up.”

  5. Zoanna, you are a wonderful person and it is clear that your relationship with the Lord is very strong. You are also a mother of several children and you homeschool. We can learn from YOU. Remember that keeping a tidy home is only a piece of the puzzle.

  6. Aw, Beth, you made me cry. I’ve had a much better day today. I am resolved not to react to criticism today regardless of my temptation. I have done “boo-coo” and am feeling good. Then again, I did boo-coo yesterday and was feeling good until I got home from Alpha and got criticized for what wasn’t done. I am out the door to pick up kids now and drop off 4 huge bags at the Edgewood Thrift store. Getting the clutter out and putting a shine on my bedroom today has felt good.

  7. I’m glad, Zoanna. I’m also sure that Laurie will be glad when I start my group therapy on someone else’s comment page 🙂

Leave a Reply

