Uncategorized

Spurgeon on Psalm 62:11, 12

Psalms 62:11-12 (ESV) 11 Once God has spoken; twice have I heard this: that power belongs to God, 12 and that to you, O Lord, belongs steadfast love (mercy in some translations). For you will render to a man according to his work.

“This looks rather like justice than mercy; but if we understand it to mean that God graciously rewards the poor, imperfect works of His people, we see in it a clear display of mercy. May it not also mean that according to the work He allots us is the strength which He renders to us? He is not a hard master, but metes out for us strength equal for our day. In either meaning we have the power and mercy blended, and have a double reason for waiting upon God.”
– Charles Spurgeon (Commentary on Psalms volume 1, pg. 255)

4 thoughts on “Spurgeon on Psalm 62:11, 12

  1. How awesome this truth is. What mercy! To think that: “we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Eph. 2:10
    God prepared us for and prepared the good works for us to do! What encouragement and definitely what mercy that He should reward us for what He prepared in advance and provides strength for us to do! “If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength GOD PROVIDES, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ.” 1 Peter 4:11
    I am inspired to pray for that very strength today.

  2. I had an opportunity to apply the encouragement I received from this blog entry yesterday. I had the choice to serve someone who isn’t always easy to serve or to make myself busy and excuse myself from engaging her heart. Remembering what I had read here that morning, I chose the former and God was faithful, providing mercy and power to walk out a good work He had prepared in advance for me. Thank you, Lord. And, thanks Laurie for posting it!

  3. I can attest that today was such a day, where I needed strength equal to the work allotted for the day. I must give Him the credit for giving me three kids to help prepare our home this week for out-of-town guests. And a fourth one who comes along behind us making sure we remember that we can’t do it without God’s grace. (See my latest blog.)–>

Leave a Reply

