Three Teens and a Tween

Image

My twins as little guys – 10 years old. This is one of my all-time favorite pictures of them!

I started this blog several years ago kind of on a whim. I discovered the whole “blog world” accidentally, and was thrilled to find there was this semi-formal way to publish my writing. I have always enjoyed writing and the combination of my crazy experience with my four very funny and cute kids, and learning so much about life and God I was thrilled to find an outlet to publish. The fact that others actually read and commented was such a motivator to continue! When you’re home all day with young’uns, having a grown up comment on your blog post was social gold!

I am so glad I blogged while my kids were younger. I love to go back through my old posts and find “quotable kiddo” moments that would have been lost forever if I hadn’t written them down. I am so glad I wrote about what my life was like during that really intense season of having young kids close in age, and learning how to homeschool. I love looking back and reading about how God guided me through everything from insomnia, legalism, and comparing with others to various recipes and homemaking ventures that appealed to me during those years. There’s something about writing through the nitty gritty’s of life that helps me cherish that time more, and helps me remember the struggles my younger mom friends may be experiencing.

This brings me to the real point of this post. My kids are older now. I have three teenage boys and a preteen girl. My life isn’t slowing down, it’s speeding up. My kids are just as cute and funny as ever. And they drive me just as crazy to the Savior more than ever. I’m loving this season of having teens. I’m way in over my head…that is the theme of this blog, really, isn’t it?! But I’m learning more lessons about life and about God. I want to quote my funny teenagers. I want to remember the moments of real life this season brings: still insomnia, still comparing, still legalism….just different reasons and venues. I want to share the recipes (food is a huge theme during the teen years), and the home making things that are working (or not working). I’m in my car all of the time driving them here and there. I have the freedom to leave the house (even when they’re at home), so it’s hard to find time to sit and write. But I really, really want to.

There are dozens and dozens of mommy blogs out there, but there aren’t many mom-of-teen blogs out there.  I think I might start one. Or continue this one with that emphasis.

As I type, two of my boys are reading over my shoulder. They are in a bit of a panic over what I might write. I assured them I wouldn’t publish anything personal that they hadn’t approved first. It’s gonna be tricky, but I really want to be able to look back at this craziest-season-yet with my children and read through what they were saying and doing, and what God was saying and doing…because I know more than ever that very soon, it’s going to end!

6 thoughts on “Three Teens and a Tween

  1. So true, Laurie…these years are speeding by! And they are also good years…just different :)! Looking forward to reading and gleaning from you as we are in the trenches together raising our cute,funny, and at times crazy gang of kids!

  2. I don’t remember how I found your site. It was awhile back though. I really appreciated it and would check back every so often to see if you had started up again. And now you have! You’re right, there aren’t many “moms of teens” blogs so I’m excited to see you’re writing again. I have two teenaged sons (15 and 13) and my baby girl is 11. We homeschool too. So I’m listening…:)

Leave a Reply

